Super star

20 02 2014

LML asks for a packet of crisps and objects when she is told “no”.  The previous day LML was in hospital having 3 baby teeth and 2 grown up teeth extracted. All the work that needed doing was carried out under a general anaesthetic. 

The wait to go down to surgery was over 3 hours and LML only started to wobble with the restrictions of being on a hospital ward for the last 10 minutes. Once in surgery GM’s confidence in her daughter was proven as LML sailed through having the surgical cannula fitted. (GM did cry when the anaesthetic took effect and her beautiful lively girl became unconscious!)

When the anxious mostly functional parents were called into recovery LML was not yet conscious. Gm gently stroked her daughters hand and told her they were with her … To the utter surprise of the staff, LML immediately sat up, saw CD and shouted out his name with joy! She soon settled back down, but was as she always is on waking .. cheerful, chatty and lovely. None of the dire warnings of fighting, crying and general grumpiness were displayed. LML was a star.

Back on the ward to recover she continued to be chirpy and cooperated with everything that needed to be done. She had her drink, ate her jelly and wotsits (together!), stayed on her bed, had a little sleep and was great when woken from that to go home.

CD and GM could not be more proud of their superstar girl.

Actions

Information

9 responses

20 02 2014
thefamilyof5

Very brave indeed!
I had 2 teeth removed under general last year (needle phobia so I had gas to knock me out before the put the drip thing in). When I woke the drip was still in my hand, I freaked out, I was a right a mess!
Well done to your brave girl x

20 02 2014
izzwizz

Oh you poor thing. That is AWFUL.

21 02 2014
thefamilyof5

Im just a wus, your brave girl put me to shame 🙂

20 02 2014
underbrella

Oh that is awful tfo5. Sounds really traumatic. 😦

21 02 2014
thefamilyof5

It was, a year later and I can still ‘feel’ it in the back of my hand lol im such a wimp!

20 02 2014
izzwizz

Yes, what a star! I love that she wants to eat crisps straight after.
My son j had to have a general anaesthetic when he was about 9 and he came round in what they called an anaesthetic rage – very unusual apparently and they called me in to the recovery room to try to calm him. He was wild. I wasn’t much use, and they had to give him some more stuff to put him back under. I thought then and still think it was repressed rage from his early years bursting out. The good thing is that the hospital experience as a whole marked a bit of a turning point in our relationship, and from then on he seemed sure that I was his forever mummy, and he became markedly more secure. Not a route I’d recommend for everyone though!

20 02 2014
underbrella

It did occur to me, as I laid beside her on her hospital bed that having CD and I so focused on supporting and loving her would do no harm! The world of adoption eh?

20 02 2014
izzwizz

Yep, we have to think in very different ways from the rest of the world ….

21 02 2014
Mamaoftwo

Didn’t she do well. No wonder you are both so proud – and probably relieved as well. Hope that’s the last teeth she needs pulling out!

Leave a Reply

